Faculty/Staff Convocation

Event Date and Time: 
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 3:00pm
Memorial Chapel

You are invited to the 34th annual Convocation to honor faculty and staff for their contributions to education, research, and/or service. It will be held on Wednesday, September 13, 2017, at 3 PM, at Memorial Chapel, followed by a reception in the Chapel Garden.




Distinguished University Professor: 

Ritu Agarwal (Robert H. Smith School of Business); Thomas Antonsen, Jr. (Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Department of Physics, and Institute for Research in Elect4ronics and Applied Physics); Catherine Fenselau (Department of Chemistry and BioChemistry); Michele Gelfand (Department of Psychology)


Distinguished Scholar-Teacher:

Rajshree Agarwal (Robert H. Smith School of Business); Karen Carleton (Department of Biology); Sandra Gordon-Salant (Department of Hearing and Speech Sciences); Jonathan Katz (Department of Computer Science and Institute for Advanced Computer Studies); Srinivasa Raghavan (Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering); Jennifer Rice (Dean, College of Education)


Distinguished Service Award:  

Willie Brown (University Human Resources); Denise Clark (Division of Research); Mario  Edwards (Department of Dining Services); Joelle Presson (College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences); Audrey Stewart (Facilities Management)


President's Medal: 

Jerry Lewis, Office of Undergraduate Studies