Outstanding Development/Administration Awards (formerly known as the Outstanding Graduate and Undergraduate Advisors Award)

This award recognizes and rewards the important contributions of faculty, professional, undergraduate and graduate student advisors in our college.
Feinian Chen
Sociology (Graduate)
Kathryn Weiland
Government and Politics (Undergraduate)
Robert Koulish
Behavioral and Social Sciences (Undergraduate)

Excellence in Teaching

The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes faculty members who have made distinctive contributions to classroom instruction within the College of Behavioral & Social Sciences. These individuals represent the finest examples of scholar-teachers.

Rashawn Ray


Joel Simmons

Government and Politics

Joey Brown


Maureen Shader 

Hearing & Speech Sciences

Excellence in Mentorship Award 

The Excellence in Mentorship Award recognizes faculty members who demonstrated exemplary performance as role models in mentoring students or faculty colleagues. The particular emphasis of this award is mentoring as a component of undergraduate education.

Jessica Goldberg


Outstanding Staff Award

This award recognizes employees whose efforts have been extraordinary and who provide invaluable daily support of our students, faculty and administrators as they pursue their goals.
Meredith Tabor 
Sybil Paige

George M. Phillips Award

The George M. Phillips Award recognizes outstanding contributions made by graduate students to topics of significant community and public concern.
Joseph Braun
Government and Politics
Christopher Jonathan Seitz-Brown

Excellence in Service Award 

This award recognizes tenure-track and professional-track faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences and its students through their work on committees, task forces, projects, and development of relationships with other units or outside institutions.
Linda Moghadam 
Mengxue Li
Behavioral and Social Sciences

Excellence in Research Award

This award recognizes tenure-track and professional-track faculty members who have made significant contributions to the research agenda of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences over the past year.  Outstanding publications, originality or pioneering nature of the research, impact of the research, and/or research productivity may all be considered for this award.  There will be two awards to acknowledge the contributions of both tenure-track and professional-track faculty.
Jeff Lucas 
Matt Hansen
Geographical Sciences

Excellence in Diversity Award 

This award recognizes individuals whose work promotes the diversity mission of our college.  Examples might involve innovative efforts to include diversity in a course or curriculum, mentoring of diverse students, efforts that build community among diverse students, faculty, and staff, to name a few possibilities.  This award is open to all members of the college community (faculty, graduate students, and staff).
Malaika Serrano 
Behavioral and Social Sciences