Dean's Medal

The Dean's Medal is given for outstanding service to the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, and is the highest honor that the College bestows.
Carolyn Schupbach
Director, BSOS Dean’s Office

Outstanding Development/Administration Awards (formerly known as the Outstanding Graduate and Undergraduate Advisors Award)

This award recognizes and rewards the important contributions of faculty, professional, undergraduate and graduate student advisors in our college.

Steve Young
Advisor, Psychology


Excellence in Teaching

The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes faculty members who have made distinctive contributions to classroom instruction within the College of Behavioral & Social Sciences. These individuals represent the finest examples of scholar-teachers.

Calvert Jones
Assistant Professor, Government & Politics
Sebastian Vallejo Vera
Graduate Assistant, Government & Politics
Jennifer Brady
Graduate Assistant, Psychology
Stacy Kosko
Associate Research Professor, Government & Politics


Excellence in Mentorship Award 

The Excellence in Mentorship Award recognizes faculty members who demonstrated exemplary performance as role models in mentoring students or faculty colleagues. The particular emphasis of this award is mentoring as a component of undergraduate education.

Jonathan Mohr
Associate Professor, Psychology


Outstanding Staff Award

This award recognizes employees whose efforts have been extraordinary and who provide invaluable daily support of our students, faculty and administrators as they pursue their goals.

Archilline Tablada
Assistant Director, Psychology
Mona Williams
Assistant Director, Geographical Sciences


George M. Phillips Award

The George M. Phillips Award recognizes outstanding contributions made by graduate students to topics of significant community and public concern.

Austin Sandler
Graduate Assistant, Geographical Sciences


Excellence in Research Award

This award recognizes tenure-track and professional-track faculty members who have made significant contributions to the research agenda of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences over the past year.  Outstanding publications, originality or pioneering nature of the research, impact of the research, and/or research productivity may all be considered for this award.  There will be two awards to acknowledge the contributions of both tenure-track and professional-track faculty.

Edward Lemay
Associate Professor, Psychology
Kuishuang Feng
Associate Research Professor, Geographical Sciences



Excellence in Diversity Award 

This award recognizes individuals whose work promotes the diversity mission of our college.  Examples might involve innovative efforts to include diversity in a course or curriculum, mentoring of diverse students, efforts that build community among diverse students, faculty, and staff, to name a few possibilities.  This award is open to all members of the college community (faculty, graduate students, and staff).
Kathryn Dow-Burger
Associate Clinical Professor, Hearing & Speech Sciences