About the Council

The College Council is established in the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences Plan of Organization. It includes representatives of faculty (both tenured/tenure-track and professional track), staff, and students (both undergraduate and graduate).
The Council is responsible for consulting regularly with senior leadership at the college, departmental, and center levels, and for advising the Dean on strategic planning. The Council reviews departmental plans of organization to ensure compliance with college and campus level policies, as well. Most importantly, the Council facilitates communication between members of the college and the Dean. If you have any questions or would like to bring any issues before the Council, please email the Council at bsos-collegecouncil@umd.edu, or contact individual members using the addresses provided below.
The Council is also working to establish better lines of communication between the college and the University Senate. To this end, the Council will periodically provide updates on important issues being considered by the Senate, and will in turn ensure that the college's perspective is shared with those responsible for making changes to university policies and practices. Following the Council's current membership is a list of topics currently under consideration by the Senate. The Council will also provide an annual update of important changes approved by the Senate and signed by the President (an update for the 2021-2022 session can be found at the bottom of this page).

Current College Council Membership

Name Seat Name Email
William Braniff Centers (Chair) braniff@umd.edu
Stephen Brighton Faculty - ANTH sbrighto@umd.edu
Leila DeFloriani Faculty - GEOG deflo@umd.edu
Long Doan Faculty - SOCY longdoan@umd.edu
John Drabinski Faculty - AFAM jdrab@umd.edu
Sara-Laure Faraji Graduate Student (DGSAC) faraji@terpmail.umd.edu
Rebecca Hunsaker Staff Member hunsaker@umd.edu
Yan Li Faculty - JPSM yli6@umd.edu
Justine Madoo Faculty - CCJS jmadoo@umd.edu
Peter Murrell Faculty - ECON pmurrell@umd.edu
Nicole Nguyen Faculty - HESP (Secretary) nknguyen@umd.edu
Elizabeth Redcay Faculty - PSYC redcay@umd.edu
Aaron Tobiason Staff Member (Vice Chair) tobiason@umd.edu
Raj Ukondwa Undergraduate Student (DSAC) raju2024@umd.edu
Jennifer Wallace PTK Faculty jwallace@umd.edu
Janelle Wong Faculty - GVPT janellew@umd.edu

Overview of University Senate Work, 2022-2023

Click on each topic below for more information on the change and links to additional content. Download a PDF version of the overview here.


Overview of University Senate Actions, 2021-2022

Click on each topic below for more information on the change and links to additional content. Download a PDF version of the overview here.

architectural columns and leaves